clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Missouri football, Week 11 depth chart notes: Franklin starts, DGB scores, and Wilson tackles

New, comments

James Franklin is officially Missouri's starter against Ole Miss (as if there were any remaining doubt), and Henry Josey, Franklin, Andrew Wilson, and Michael Sam are moving up some career lists.

Bill Carter

This week's game notes are out (PDF). Here are some notes on the depth chart.

  • Your No. 1 quarterback: James Franklin. No "OR" starter, either. Maty Mauk is second-string, Eddie Printz is third (which is to say there is no third).
  • Duron Singleton is the third-string free safety, which is odd considering his increased playing time. Unless he got in trouble for something, I'm assuming he'll still be seeing quite a bit of time as the fifth DB.
  • Eric Waters is now your only starting tight end; for most of the season, he and Sean Culkin were listed as "OR" starters, even though Waters has seen a lion's share of the playing time.
  • Missouri still has six starters on the defensive line thanks to two "ORs" -- Michael Sam and Shane Ray at end, Harold Brantley and Lucas Vincent at tackle.
  • Marcus Murphy is indeed still listed as the first-stringer at both return spots despite his bout with fumbleitis in Lexington. And yes, Andrew Baggett is still the starting place-kicker.

Other tidbits from the game notes:

  • A win would give Mizzou its fourth 10-win season in seven years. It would also give Gary Pinkel his 100th win as Missouri head coach. Don Faurot had 101.
  • Mizzou is 5-1 all-time vs. Ole Miss. The Tigers won in 1973, 1978, 1979, 2006, and 2007 and lost in 1974. (Read more about those games here.)
  • Career starts for Mizzou's projected offensive line: 104.
  • Henry Josey's 86-yard touchdown run vs. Kentucky was tied for the second-longest such run in Mizzou's history. Harry Ice ripped off a 90-yarder vs. Iowa State in 1941, and three others managed 86-yarders: Hank Kuhlmann (1958 vs. Nebraska), Charles R. Brown (1965 vs. Kansas), and Robert Delpino (1987 vs. Northwestern). Mizzou won all five of these games, by the way. So there you go, Josh Henson: Call the "85+ yard TD play," and Missouri will never lose.
  • With one more 100-yard game, Josey will tie Zack Abron, Joe Moore, and Devin West with 11 for his career, second-most all-time behind Brad Smith (18). And he's a junior.
  • James Franklin, again the starter, is 712 passing yards behind Blaine Gabbert on Mizzou's all-time list. Franklin has 6,110, Gabbert is fourth at 6,822, and Jeff Handy is third at 6,959. Get to the SEC championship, and the extra start should be enough to move Franklin past Handy. And three games might be plenty, as well.
  • With 14, Dorial Green-Beckham is already sixth on Mizzou's all-time career receiving touchdowns list. He and L'Damian Washington are each four scores behind Martin Rucker and Justin Gage, who are tied for fourth at 18. Danario Alexander and Jeremy Maclin each had 22, and Chase Coffman had 30.
  • Andrew Wilson has 293 career tackles, 17th-most in Mizzou history. He is one behind Van Darko (1978-81) for 16th, 17 behind Lynn Evans (1972-74) for 15th, and 26 behind Adrian Jones (1986-89) for 14th. He's averaging 7.4 per game so far this year (I'd have guessed higher than that), so he would have a decent chance at catching Jones if he has three games remaining. With a fourth, he'd almost certainly catch Jones, and he'd have a decent chance at catching Erik McMillan (1984-87) and Jay Wilson (1980-83) in 12th place at 323, Brock Christopher (2005-08) in 11th place at 329, or even Jason Simpson (2002-05) in 10th place at 331.
  • Jay Wilson, who's in 12th place on that tackles list? Andrew's dad.
  • Michael Sam is still three sacks behind Justin Smith and Stryker Sulak on Mizzou's all-time sacks list. Finish strong, Mike! He's also two tackles for loss from joining Mizzou's all-time top 10 in that category, as well. And in terms of single-season sacks, he's 1.5 from tying Aldon Smith (2009) on that list.

Missouri and Ole Miss kick off at 6:45 p.m. CT on ESPN.