clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Missouri football, SEC Championship depth chart notes: No changes on Tigers' 2-deep

Streeter Lecka

This week's game notes are out (PDF). Here are some notes on the depth chart.

  • There are no notes on the depth chart. No changes from last week. And really, heading into the conference title game that's pretty outstanding news.

  • The only not-as-outstanding part: That means Duron Singleton is still listed as "questionable." Ian Simon played wonderfully last week, so this wouldn't be an enormous absence, but you'd still like to be completely full strength for such a big game, especially considering how well Singleton was starting to play before his injury.

Other tidbits from the game notes:

  • Mizzou is undefeated all-time against Auburn.

  • (They're 1-0.)

  • 1973 Sun Bowl: Missouri 34, Auburn 17.

    Mizzou exploded for 28 points in the second quarter to lock down their first bowl win in five years, in the 1973 Sun Bowl. The game featured one of the most exciting touchdowns in Mizzou's bowl history. After falling behind, 21-3, Auburn scored on a 17-yard touchdown pass, cutting Mizzou's lead to a manageable 11 points with just eight seconds left in the first half. But Auburn didn't squib the kickoff--they kicked to Mizzou's great returner John Moseley, and he returned it 84 yards for a touchdown as the first half expired. The 28-10 lead was held safely throughout the second half. After the ineptitude of 1971's 1-10 campaign, followed by the up-and-down nature of the 1972 season, Mizzou announced to a national television audience that they mattered once again in the world of college football.

  • A win would obviously be Gary Pinkel's 102nd as Missouri's head coach, breaking his current tie with Don Faurot. He began the 2012 season 16 wins behind Faurot, so at that point I kind of figured he would break the record sometime late in 2013. He did it in a route I can't say I predicted: lose 5 of 12, then win 11 of 12.

  • A win would also give Missouri its first conference title since 1969. (I really like getting to type this sentence. How about we end that streak, huh?) It would also give the Tigers their 13th conference title overall after six in the Missouri Valley and six in the Big 6/8.

  • SEC media predicted Missouri to finish sixth in the SEC East; they predicted Auburn fifth in the West.

  • Texas A&M came to Columbia averaging 552.6 yards per game. The Aggies gained 379.

  • The win over Ole Miss two Saturdays ago gave Mizzou its first 5-0 road record since 1979. Missed that one last week. And three of those five road opponents finished at least 7-5.

  • Missouri now ranks 18th in the country in rushing yards per game.

  • After Missouri's last five turnovers, the Mizzou defense has forced a turnover and four three-and-outs.

  • Total career starts for Missouri's projected starting offensive line: 114.

  • Henry Josey is now one rushing touchdown away from Mizzou's all-time career top 5.
    3. Corby Jones (38)
    4. Derrick Washington (28)
    4. Devin West (28)
    6. Henry Josey (27)
    6. Brock Olivo (27)

    (I just noticed that Olivo finished with 27. Poetic.)

    Josey's also creeping up the single-season rushing touchdowns list.
    3. Derrick Washington 2008 (17)
    3. Bob Steuber 1942 (17)
    5. Brad Smith 2005 (15)
    6. James Franklin 2011 (15)
    6. Zack Abron 2002 (15)
    6. Corby Jones 1997 (15)
    9. Corby Jones 1998 (14)
    9. Zack Abron 2003 (14)
    11. Henry Josey 2013 (13)

  • Andrew Wilson is now 10 tackles away from catching Lynn Evans on the career list.
    11. Brock Christopher (329)
    12. Erik McMillan (323)
    12. Jay "Andrew's Dad" Wilson (323)
    14. Adrian Jones (319)
    15. Lynn Evans (316)
    16. Andrew Wilson (306)

  • Michael Sam is now three TFLs away from Mizzou's career top five.
    4. Stryker Sulak (38)
    4. C.J. Mosley (38)
    6. Dedrick Harrington (36.5)
    7. Rick Lyle (36)
    8. Xzavie Jackson (35.5)
    9. Michael Sam (35)
    9. Antwaun Bynum (35)
    9. Jamonte Robinson (35)

    He's also within one sack of Mizzou's single-season record...
    1. Aldon Smith 2009 (11.5)
    2. Justin Smith 2000 (11)
    3. Michael Sam 2013 (10.5)
    3. Stryker Sulak 2008 (10.5)
    5. Antwaun Bynum 2002 (10)

    ...and two TFLs from No. 4 on the single-season list.
    1. Justin Smith 2000 (24)
    1. Keith Wright 2002 (24)
    3. John Cowan 1971 (23)
    4. Aldon Smith 2009 (19)
    4. Antwaun Bynum 2002 (19)
    6. Sean Weatherspoon 2008 (18.5)
    7. Michael Sam 2013 (18)
    7. Sean Doyle 2000 (18)
    7. Jeff Gaylor 1981 (18)
    7. J.J. Doak 1972 (18)

Missouri and Auburn kick off at 3:00 p.m. CT on CBS with Verne Lundquist and Gary Danielson on the call.