clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Receiver Rod Ford decommits from Missouri, leaving the Tigers at 19 commits for 2017

New, comments

The scholarship math still doesn’t work ... but it will. It always does.

Let’s play another round of everybody’s favorite game: Scholarship math!

1. Mizzou can have up to 85 players on scholarship.

2. The Tigers currently have 65 scheduled to return next year, plus three walk-ons who started a game in 2016 (and are therefore at the front of the line to receive a scholarship themselves).

3. Mizzou currently has 20 commitments. Whoops, make that 19.

That’s Roderick Ford, one of Mizzou’s previously committed wide receivers, re-opening his recruitment. More here.

4. 85 scholarships minus 65-68 scholarship players equals ... 29 scholarships to give!

If Mizzou indeed gives out 29 scholarships in this class, then we can expect attrition of 10-13 players from the current roster. Looking at where there is a backlog of sophomores- and juniors-to-be pretty far down the depth chart, then I would say receiver and linebacker are the most likely positions to see a decent number of departures. But those positions alone won’t be enough. We’ll see!

Some more recruiting links for you:

Two reasons to watch the East-West Shrine Game:

J’den Cox is on the Hodge Trophy watch list

Good lord, I would hope so. From

Mizzou Wrestling senior 197-pounder J'den Cox (Columbia, Mo.) was named to the Dan Hodge Trophy Preseason Candidate List, announced by WIN Magazine on Friday. Cox was one of eight wrestlers named to the list for the Hodge, which is equivalent to the Heisman Trophy in college football, and is the most prestigious award in college wrestling.

One Tiger wrestler, Ben Askren, has previously won the award, bringing home the trophy in 2006 and 2007 following back-to-back perfect seasons and NCAA National Championships.

The 2017 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy winner will be named following the 2017 NCAA Wrestling Championships, which will be held March 16-18 in St. Louis, Mo., at the Scottrade Center. The trophy recipient will be based on a criteria of wrestler's record, number of pins, dominance, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart. A committee of past Hodge Trophy winners, national media members and a retired college coach from each region will help select this year's winner. A fan vote will also be counted as two ballots towards the overall end vote.

Mizzou is still ranked fifth overall despite the blowout loss to Ohio State, by the way.

Sierra Michaelis: SEC player of the week

I mean, I guess 19 points and 6 steals per game is pretty good...