clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cody Schrader becomes Mizzou’s 15th consensus All-American

Schrader being named first team All-AP and Sporting News gives him the unique honor of being a consensus All-American

Missouri v Arkansas Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

The honors and recognition for Cody Schrader keep adding up.

On Tuesday, the NCAA released its Consensus College Football All-America team. For a player to be awarded the honor of being a consensus All-American, they must be named first team of two of the five: The American Football Coaches Association, The Associated Press, Football Writers of Association of American, The Sporting News and the Walter Camp Foundation. Schrader was named first team All-Associated Press and The Sporting News while placing All-second team for the AFCA, FWAA, and Walter Camp, joining now former Oklahoma State running back Ollie Gordon and one of two Consensus All-American running backs.

From a walk on from Truman State, and many questioning whether or not Mizzou’s running back room was good enough to be competitive in the SEC, Schrader ripped off one of the best seasons in Mizzou history as he finished eighth place in the Heisman voting, becoming just the fifth time a Tiger has placed in the voting process, while also being a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, honoring the nation's most prestigious running back.

His 1,489 rushing yards lead the Southeastern Conference and is currently third in the FBS heading into bowl season. The next closer rusher in the SEC is Heisman Trophy winner Jayden Daniels, another Consensus All-American, who is 355 yards behind Schrader. When it comes to placing his current season among former Mizzou players, his single season rushing yardage mark ranks third behind Devin West 1998 campaign, and Tyler Badie’s 2021 season.

Schrader is one of seven SEC players named to the Consensus All-American team along with Brock Bowers (Georgia), Dallas Turner (Alabama), Edgerrin Cooper (Texas A&M), Daniels (LSU), Kool-Aid McKinstry (Alabama), Malaki Starks (Georgia), and Malik Nabers (LSU),

Missouri v Arkansas Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

It’s been since 2014 that Mizzou had a consensus All-American, but Schrader joins a list of 14 other Tigers that have received the honor:

Mizzou Consensus All-Americans

  • Darold Jenkins (1941), Center
  • Danny LaRose (1960), Defense End
  • Johnny Roland (1965), Defensive Back
  • Roger Wehrli (1968), Defensive Back
  • Kellen Winslow (1978), Tight End
  • John Clay (1986), Offensive Tackle
  • Rob Riti (1999), Center
  • Martin Rucker (2007), Tight End
  • Jeremy Maclin (2007 & 2008), Wide Receiver
  • Chase Coffman (2008), Tight End
  • Michael Egnew (2010), Tight End
  • Michael Sam (2013), Defensive End
  • Shane Ray (2014), Defensive End
  • Cody Schrader (2023)