clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight Mizzou Tigers named to the AP All-SEC teams

Five Mizzou players are named to the AP All-SEC first team, two to the second team, while Eli Drinkwitz received well-deserved recognition for one of the best seasons in the past decade.

NCAA Football: Missouri at Arkansas Nelson Chenault-USA TODAY Sports

More good news keeps coming for Missouri Tigers football. A day after the ninth-ranked Tigers were selected to play in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 28, the Associated Press released its All-SEC teams on Monday afternoon and spoiler alert, Mizzou landed the third most representation behind Alabama and Georgia.

NCAA Football: Florida at Missouri Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

The AP All-SEC voting panel named Eli Drinkwitz SEC Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers to a 10-2 record. He’s the first Missouri coach named AP SEC Coach of the Year. Gary Pinkel won the coaches voting back in 2013. This also snaps Kirby Smart’s two-year run with the honor.

Cal Tobias/Rock M Nation

As one of the only four unanimous choices with Jayden Daniels, Brock Bowers and Malik Nabers, Cody Schrader was named first team running back adding on to one of the best stories and greatest seasons by a Mizzou rusher. Schrader leads the SEC with 1,499 rushing yards to go along 13 touchdowns on a 6.1 yards per carry average. He’ll more than likely go over the 1.5K mark against the Buckeyes later this month.

Joining him on the 1st team offensive side for the Tigers is Luther Burden III and left tackle Javon Foster. Burden became the first 1,000-yard receiver for Mizzou since J’Mon Moore in 2017. His 1,197 yards rank 10th in the nation, and just behind Nabers within the Southeastern Conference. Foster has been a solid tackle for this team for a while now despite this being his first appearance on an All-SEC team exhibiting the growth of the offensive line.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 11 Tennessee at Missouri

On the defensive side, Darius Robinson and Kris Abrams-Draine received first team honors. Robinson, who moved to defensive end this season, led the team with 7.5 sacks to go along with 12 tackles for loss (also a team high) and a forced fumble. Abrams-Draine on the other hand has been sticky in coverage leading the team with four interceptions and 12 passes defended.

Cam’Ron Johnson was named All-SEC second team. The Tigers starting right guard came over from Houston after being one of the better guards in the AAC. Along with Theo Wease Jr., he was one of the more impactful transfers on the offensive side of the ball and still has a year of remaining eligibility. Lastly, the thiccer kicker, Harrison Mevis, was named All-second team kicker while Alabama’s Will Reichard took first team honors. Mevis went 24-30 (80%) on his field goals, while going 43-44 on extra points this season. His 61-yarder against Kansas State and his game winner versus Florida directly added two wins to the Tigers season.