clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Missouri defensive line coach Craig Kuligowski should be a Broyles Award nominee

In 2014, Mizzou defensive coordinator Dave Steckel was among five finalists for the Broyles Award for top assistant college football coach.

  • Lane Kiffin, University of Alabama, Offensive Coordinator
  • Dave Steckel, University of Missouri, Defensive Coordinator
  • Tom Herman, Ohio State University, Offensive Coordinator
  • Scott Frost, University of Oregon, Offensive Coordinator
  • Doug Meacham, Texas Christian University, Co-Offensive Coordinator

Tom Herman, offensive coordinator for eventual national champion Ohio State, won the award in 2014 before becoming the head coach of the undefeated and No. 25 Houston Cougars in 2015. According to the Broyles Award website, 20% of finalists go on to become head coaches.

According to Coaching, current defensive line coach Craig Kuligowski deserves a nomination for this year's 2015 Broyles Award.

Craig Kuligowski – Missouri defensive line coach Missouri has allowed four touchdowns in the past month, but is is 1-3 in those game without offensive support. Mizzou is No. 5 in tackles for loss per game (9.0) and No. 7 in rushing defense (2.9 per carry) behind Kuligowski’s line. That DL rotation includes no seniors and five freshmen. Kuligowski continues to prove himself as one of the nation’s top defensive line coaches.  Last week, Missouri defensive coordinator Barry Odom told reporters, "I’ve said it a million times since January. I believe he’s the best in the country at what he does. I don’t think there’s any question if you look at the players who have been developed at all four defensive line spots over the last 15 years. It’s unmatched."

Craig Kuligowski heads a position group currently ranked #3 in the nation in "Havoc Rate" and has coached up lightly regarded recruits like sophomore Charles Harris (6 sacks, 15.5 TFLs, 2 forced fumbles) and redshirt freshman Walter Brady (6 sacks, 9.5 TFLs, 1 INT) while integrating big Josh Augusta and highly ranked freshman Terry Beckner Jr. into the rotation.

Kuligowski has coached nine Tigers to first-team all-conference honors, eight in the last eight seasons – Lorenzo Williams (2007), Ziggy Hood (2008), Aldon Smith (2010), Dominique Hamilton (2011), Sheldon Richardson (2012), Michael Sam and Kony Ealy in 2013, and Shane Ray (2014). Starting with Attiyah Ellison in 2003 to Shane Ray in 2014, Kuligowski has helped 12 defensive lineman get selected in the NFL draft, 6 in the first two rounds.

The Broyles Award Selection Committee consists of:

Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles

Former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley

Former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson

Former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff

Former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards

Former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry

Former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer

Former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors

Former Florida State University Coach Bobby Bowden

Former Texas Longhorn Coach Mack Brown

Former Tennessee Volunteer Coach Phillip Fulmer

Each team's head coach can nominate one assistant coach from his staff. The official list of nominees is typically released the week of Thanksgiving.