clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mizzou Softball set to host seventh consecutive NCAA Regional, face Indiana State Friday

This is the sixth consecutive season that Mizzou has clinched a top-16 national seed.

MUTIGERS.COM Mizzou Softball Will Host its Seventh Consecutive NCAA Regional

COLUMBIA, Mo. - Mizzou Softball (39-14, 14-10) has been selected to host an NCAA Regional this weekend for the seventh-straight season, as announced Sunday by the National Softball Selection Committee. The Tigers received the No. 10 overall seed and are the top-seeded team in the Columbia Regional.

Mizzou has now secured an NCAA Tournament berth for the ninth time in head coach Ehren Earleywine's nine-year tenure. The Tigers have won six of their past seven NCAA Regionals, reaching the Women's College World Series three times in that span. It's the sixth consecutive season that Mizzou has clinched a top-16 national seed.

In 2015, Mizzou posted a 14-10 record in the vaunted Southeastern Conference and finished the regular season with a 39-14 overall mark. Joining the Tigers in the Columbia Regional are Louisville, Kansas, and Indiana State. Mizzou opens its postseason on Friday, May 15 against Indiana State at 6:30 p.m. CT at University Field. TV information will be announced once it has been determined by tournament officials.

Friday. May 15

4:00 p.m. - Game One : Louisville vs. Kansas

6:30 p.m. - Game Two: No. 10 Mizzou vs. Indiana State

Saturday, May 16

2:30 p.m. - Game Three: Winner G1 vs. Winner G2

5:00 p.m. - Game Four: Loser G1 vs. Loser G2 (loser eliminated)

7:30 p.m. - Game Five: Loser G3 vs. Winner G4 (loser eliminated)

Sunday, May 17

12:00 p.m. - Game Six: Winner G3 vs. Winner G5

2:30 p.m. - Game Seven: (if necessary)

NCAA softball bracket

11 SEC teams in NCAA tournament

SEC regular season champion Florida (50-6) earned the national No. 1 seed and SEC Champion Auburn (49-0) earned the No. 4 seed. LSU (44-11) are the No. 5 national seed, while Alabama (42-12) is the No.6 seed. Tennessee (42-12) is the No. 8 seed, and Missouri (39-14) earned the No. 10 seed. Georgia (40-14) rounds out the list as the No. 14 seed.

In addition, Kentucky (29-24) will compete in the South Bend Regional, while South Carolina (37-20) opens up tournament play in the Tallahassee Regional for the second consecutive year. Mississippi State (35-19) will play in the Lafayette Regional, and Texas A&M marks its 26th NCAA appearance when the Aggies play in the Norman Regional for the second consecutive year.

The SEC led all leagues with 11 teams selected to the championship tournament. The Pac-12 Conference and Atlantic Coast Conference each placed seven teams in the championship tournament, respectively.


MU softball earns No. 10 seed, will host NCAA regional that includes Kansas - Columbia Daily Tribune | Blake Toppmeyer

Missouri beat Kansas 6-3 in the second round of last year’s regional in the first head-to-head meeting of the rivals in any sport since Missouri left the Big 12 for the Southeastern Conference after the 2011-12 season.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kelsea Roth on <a href="">#Mizzou</a>&#39;s 10-seed: &quot;We were hoping in the nine to 11 spot, and we’re right dab in the middle. I think that’s a good spot.”</p>&mdash; Blake Toppmeyer (@btoppmeyer) <a href="">May 11, 2015</a></blockquote>

<script async src="//" charset="utf-8"></script>


We'll update this post when times for this weekend's game becomes official.